server

User avatar
ravanwin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:08 pm
Location: edinburgh
Contact:

server

Postby ravanwin » Thu May 22, 2008 2:32 pm

the sata pci card is still not in stock. maybe we should choose another?
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Postby swithun » Thu May 22, 2008 2:39 pm

The computer that was picked as the server is pretty crap. It doesn't look like it has room for more than one disk. I'll ask on Freecycle for one which can already take SATA disks. It won't be any worse than the proposed box.
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Postby Martin » Sat May 24, 2008 11:12 pm

I've bought a SATA card for a tenner so we can just get on with things as planned. If we score a better machine off freecycle then fine, but it seems a dumb thing to be waiting on.
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Postby swithun » Sun May 25, 2008 8:14 am

Freecycle didn't produce anything. I was probably being too fussy, asking for a modern machine. But if we have a SATA card now, we could use my old computer. It is above the volunteer cupboard, with PERVCAM written on it. It is a PIII667 with 512MB RAM, which should be fine.
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Postby Martin » Sun May 25, 2008 6:08 pm

Any particular reason to use that rather than the old Infoseed dual-P3 server?
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Postby swithun » Sun May 25, 2008 10:17 pm

The only reason would be that it can take more than 1 disk. You could use the memory from pervcam if you want, if 1 disk is enough, or if you can see how to get another one in the dual PIII.
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Postby Martin » Mon May 26, 2008 12:32 pm

The SATA card is now in the top of the blue cabinet in the action room.

Go go go.
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2651
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Postby swithun » Sat May 31, 2008 9:22 pm

Gar. The SATA disks need some kind of SATA power too. Plus we will need a few screws and another red SATA lead.
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Postby Martin » Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:45 am

Feck, forgot the power connectors.

I have SATA data leads and all the screws you can eat. The power connectors should be obtainable from a computer shop in town for a couple of quid, or at Maplin.
0 x

User avatar
ChaoticReality
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Location: Edinburgh!
Contact:

Re: server

Postby ChaoticReality » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:15 pm

Server stuff, lets do it.

I'm starting a thread! (Oo-er)
0 x
Mike

Dawnsio 'mlaen i'r gwres prynhawn a rwy'n addo erbyn yfori byddai wedi mynd, hwyl fawr i pawb, hwyl fawr i pawb...


Return to “Website/Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron