Why our servers are down

User avatar
Lynne
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:35 pm

Why our servers are down

Postby Lynne » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:05 pm

Someone phoned from BT to say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with our broadband connection.

This must mean that the problem is internal to the Forest?
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby swithun » Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:26 pm

I was looking at this last night. If you log into the box (via the web interface), you can see the error logs and processes. pppd constantly fails and is run again. You can see the PID changing each time the process list is refreshed.

Here is an example of the log output:

Code: Select all

Jan  1 00:08:07 Forest kern.info pppd[1598]: Plugin rp-pppoe.so loaded.
Jan  1 00:08:07 Forest kern.notice pppd[1598]: pppd 2.4.3 started by root,  uid 0
Jan  1 00:08:22 Forest kern.warn pppd[1598]: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
Jan  1 00:08:22 Forest kern.err pppd[1598]: Unable to complete PPPoE Discovery
Jan  1 00:08:22 Forest kern.info pppd[1598]: Exit.


Should it be PPPoE? I have a BT connection at home and it uses PPPoA. I thought it had to be PPPoA, but looking on the web, it seems that BT is enabling PPPoE. Do we need PPPoE for something fancy? Will we lose anything by going to PPPoA?
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby Martin » Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:48 pm

The connection on the ADSL line is PPPoA. We have been using the ADSL modem as a PPPoA - PPPoE bridge, and then doing PPPoE on the router. This is nice because it keeps all the control and queues and so on in one place, which helps with the QoS stuff we need to do to make the net usable with lots of people sharing the connection.

For some reason this has stopped working. I've poked around and reconfigured it all from scratch to no avail.

So instead, the ADSL modem is now doing the PPP itself, and the router is just getting DHCP from it on its WAN port and speaking normal IP over Ethernet.
0 x

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby Martin » Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:31 pm

(translation: it's fixed)
0 x

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby swithun » Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:41 pm

Even I was going to ask! Thanks.
0 x

User avatar
xabina
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:28 pm

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby xabina » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:16 pm

thank you martin!
0 x
"If I can't dance I don't wanna be part of your revolution" Emma Goldman

User avatar
michaelbowdidge
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: In the place, with everybody...

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby michaelbowdidge » Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:02 pm

Well played Sir!
0 x
I'll take your brain to another dimension...

User avatar
milk
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:02 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby milk » Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:08 pm

woots, go martin :)
0 x
hey, if you don't like it, post on the BB (so you can ask about participating for better) | MilkMiruku

User avatar
swithun
Posts: 2639
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:24 am

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby swithun » Sat Sep 06, 2008 8:52 pm

It's down again. When it was down the other day, I just ssh'd in and rebooted and it worked again. But Taskin restarted it to no avail. Any ideas?
0 x

User avatar
milk
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:02 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby milk » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:13 am

i had a look at the router config on saturday afternoon when it went down. i tried to check what the WAN connection status was but can only find the PPPoE section which notifies that the router isn't set to PPPoE. martin - where should one go for the proper WAN-LAN status info? i then just went for the reboot option and that seemed to resolve the problem at the time.
0 x
hey, if you don't like it, post on the BB (so you can ask about participating for better) | MilkMiruku

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm

Re: Why our servers are down

Postby Martin » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:58 am

martin - where should one go for the proper WAN-LAN status info?


Status / Interfaces.

You can also get onto the web interface for the modem, at 192.168.0.1. Login is 'admin' with the same password as for the router.
0 x


Return to “Website/Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests