remote printing

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
User avatar
chris
Posts: 2638
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:50 am
Location: heartland
Contact:

remote printing

Postby chris » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:28 am

hey!

is there a way that i can remotely print from my laptop?

this would be great! maybe it already exists?

User avatar
milk
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:02 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby milk » Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:17 pm

i know people have connected their laptops to the network at the forest and printed, but i've never set the printer up on any machine so i don't know the ins and outs, but i imagine it shouldn't be too hard if others have done it.

tips anyone?

by remote, do you mean from inside or out of the building?
hey, if you don't like it, post on the BB (so you can ask about participating for better) |

User avatar
Jane
Posts: 1557
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby Jane » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:37 pm

talk to my husband and/or martinmckenna

User avatar
ChaoticReality
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Location: Edinburgh!
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby ChaoticReality » Wed May 12, 2010 7:06 am

Piece of piss. Have set it up for Catalina and Cornelia recently.

From your laptop, go to the control panel and then the printer dialog. You should have an option to add a network printer. Your laptop will then scan the network and should discover the bizhub. When it does, select it and it should download the necessary driver for you.

Takes ~5mins. If you are unsure I can do it for you one day this week. Let me know.

User avatar
chris
Posts: 2638
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:50 am
Location: heartland
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby chris » Wed May 12, 2010 9:21 am

can i do this from my flat?

User avatar
milk
Posts: 1798
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:02 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby milk » Wed May 12, 2010 12:35 pm

while making things easy using technology is for the win, could randoms abuse this from the cafe? is there any way to set-up a simple password (that might change every couple of months) that we could stick on the wall in the Action Room?

or should we just wait and see if anything like 1000 pages of goatse turn up in the printed pages tray at some point?

i honestly don't know - balancing effort and process bottlenecks with security... pptthhh...
hey, if you don't like it, post on the BB (so you can ask about participating for better) |

User avatar
ChaoticReality
Posts: 1113
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Location: Edinburgh!
Contact:

Re: remote printing

Postby ChaoticReality » Wed May 12, 2010 1:28 pm

Chris: No, you need to be connected to the forest network when you want to setup/use the printer. It is probably possible to set something up so you could print to it from home but that would involve a lot of faffing about with port-forwarding and making the printer internet-facing, which is as bad idea.

Milk: That's probably a good idea. I'll look to see what options the printer has for restricting access to new clients/


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Website/Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests