Forest BB

The digital grapevine of The Forest.
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: G4 iMac for action room?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
Just wondering if we should get another iMac for the action room. I'm planning to come & fix up pinky so he works a bit faster, but we could probably use another one with a bit more power. There's a G4 coming up on eBay tomorrow which is in Dalkeith so I could go & collect it instead of paying postage. Will probably go for less than £100. Comes with keyboard, mouse, speakers.

I could set it up with Photoshop & Open Office & shit. Would run faster than those old G3s and hopefully be more reliable than the woeful range of PCs we've been trying to utilize in there. Will also look a lot prettier :) I can't guarantee it'll work forever but if if breaks I'll do my best to get it working again. I reckon this will be (up to) £100 well spent from the BTS budget as it will be a decent working machine that will be of ongoing use in the action room. And, like the two G3s, it should be fairly dependable which is what we need at the moment.

Google 'iMac G4' if you want to see what they look like.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:49 am
Posts: 1231
Get the fucking Mac.

I hate to say it, and Apple is Evil. but those G3 machines have proved solid
.
A working machine for Photoshop would enhance my Forest Postermaking expiriences. I want to GIMP, but the systems are just not working.

thanks!

N/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:26 pm
Posts: 2642
Location: insitu
i would say get it too .

martin

_________________
Heaven is a disaster

Lambchop , The Saturday option .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
Does anyone know the whereabouts of the G4 (big, grey Powermac) we already have? This has ample power and already got Gimp installed. If we can get this set up somewhere, we shouldn't need anything else.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:49 am
Posts: 1231
Quote:
Does anyone know the whereabouts of the G4 (big, grey Powermac) we already have?


the plan was to install it in the Screenprinting room (where it is hiding together with the HP flatscreen) so, they could have a stand alone graphics machine hooked up to a wee scanner/printer so silk could screen without the Action Room.

could you come in and set this up. I think we had a wee scanner/printer jobbie but it not, they are like £30. No?

Viva China!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group