Forest BB

The digital grapevine of The Forest.
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
I'm going to re-write the hard drive of the old iMac jukebox very soon. If there is any music that needs to be salvaged from this, better speak up now or it will be losted forever!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:08 pm
Posts: 4975
Location: edinburgh
um. save it all? that's all our music man....

r

_________________
-----
www.ryanvanwinkle.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 1111
Location: Edinburgh!
I assume most of it is on the Forest Music Backup DVD set that I have but would be a good idea to take a copy anyway.

_________________
Mike

Dawnsio 'mlaen i'r gwres prynhawn a rwy'n addo erbyn yfori byddai wedi mynd, hwyl fawr i pawb, hwyl fawr i pawb...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:01 pm
Posts: 1327
On the iMac? You may as well back it up before wiping it, no harm in more backups, but it only has a really old and partial copy of our music, me and Erik got everything off there and onto the external hard drive that's now connected to the laptop jukebox, and we also backed it up onto DVD at least twice although I'm not sure of the whereabouts of either set or even how many exist (amazing memory here). Plus I think Erik has a copy of it all on his hard drive.

Probably about time someone made a new backup from the external HD now.

I didn't know you had a set Mike, that's good. Track record shows we lose backups and forget to make them. I think a good solution is for lots of different people to have copies. I'm guessing you made that when you had to reinstall the OS on the laptop (or whatever you did), that would make yours the latest backup. New backups should be made from the HD itself cause that's got everything that's been ripped since the last backup. I heartily encourage anyone with the time and the storage media to make themselves a backup and take it home.

What's it being resurrected for anyway?

_________________
I've had it with you. If I had an image of a laser gun I would absolutely position it right here in my hand...
Ha! I have a real laser absolutely positioned in my hand!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 3:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
Good stuff, Chombee. I've just copied it all to my laptop but it can't stay there for long as it's taking up most of the hard drive! If, as you say, it's already been salvaged, I won't worry myself about it.

Of course, what we need is a massive HD somewhere that automatically backs up everything at regular intervals. I suppose that's easier said than done, though.

The iMac is being rejuvenated for use in the shop. They need something for stock/accounts etc and to play music. I would also like to spend a few quid in order to put it on the internet. This would help keep the shop vollies from terminal boredom, and also make it easier to back up & transfer accounts. I would need to buy a slightly obscure adaptor thingy to put the iMac on wifi - much easier and less messy than hardwiring it into the network - any objections? (It would be under £10)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 1111
Location: Edinburgh!
neil wrote:
I would need to buy a slightly obscure adaptor thingy to put the iMac on wifi - much easier and less messy than hardwiring it into the network - any objections? (It would be under £10)


Sounds good to me.

chombee wrote:
and we also backed it up onto DVD at least twice although I'm not sure of the whereabouts of either set or even how many exist (amazing memory here).

<snip>

I didn't know you had a set Mike, that's good.


I think my DVD set is one of those. I have several sets which I combined into one, eliminating dupes. One was a few discs Ryan gave me, one is what I could salvage off the old HD, one came from you and Erik (I think) and the rest is what I already had collected.

chombee wrote:
New backups should be made from the HD itself cause that's got everything that's been ripped since the last backup. I heartily encourage anyone with the time and the storage media to make themselves a backup and take it home.


Does the laptop have a DVD-Burner? If not, I'll bring my machine in and do a new, complete set when I get the time.

_________________
Mike

Dawnsio 'mlaen i'r gwres prynhawn a rwy'n addo erbyn yfori byddai wedi mynd, hwyl fawr i pawb, hwyl fawr i pawb...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
The iMac is almost ready for the shop, except that one of the SDRAM sticks is fucked. It's PC100, 168 pin. Pretty old-fashioned. Any chance we have something like this lying around?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 4:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 1111
Location: Edinburgh!
I think I have some somewhere. I'll have a look this week.

_________________
Mike

Dawnsio 'mlaen i'r gwres prynhawn a rwy'n addo erbyn yfori byddai wedi mynd, hwyl fawr i pawb, hwyl fawr i pawb...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 7:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:17 pm
Posts: 37
Location: edinburgha
eh....
someone stole the laptop in the cafe. we need to have the music there.
is there any chance to put it in the cafe?

_________________
www.martmot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:02 pm
Posts: 1798
Location: Edinburgh, UK
at the last Action WG meet (wow, last Action WG minutes on the bb were from Feb?! whoopsy), it was discussed that the iMac could be used by Anna, Hannah, et al for shop accounts and keeping track of stock.

mike says that there is a laptop available to be the jukebox. he has been busy recently but i'm assuming this will be sorted out in the next few days if possible.

_________________
hey, if you don't like it, post on the BB (so you can ask about participating for better) | MilkMiruku


Last edited by milk on Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
s/is p/if p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 1111
Location: Edinburgh!
Yup. I was going to set it up before I left for London but was still waiting on the power supply. I'll check with Andy where it is so I can set the machine up.

_________________
Mike

Dawnsio 'mlaen i'r gwres prynhawn a rwy'n addo erbyn yfori byddai wedi mynd, hwyl fawr i pawb, hwyl fawr i pawb...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
This is in the shop now. Could also potentially be a temp music source for the cafe. But it's useless until it gets more RAM! Anyone????

It needs at least 256MB of PC100/133. It is old RAM - your old PC or Mac might have some...

Or we could buy for about £30...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 1084
There is a stash of old RAM in my flat but I'm not back for another week. Definitely a fair bit of PC100/133 in there but not sure if there's anything bigger than a 128MB stick individually. If it's urgent I could arrange for one of you to get it via one of my flatmates.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
Thanks Martin. We need at least 256 on one stick. I've just realised these can be had fairly cheap off eBay. I'll try to order a 512 if no objections. Should be under a tenner.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:50 pm
Posts: 944
RAM upgraded. Shop people: you can now use all the applications, and use more than one at a time!

Broken CD drive replaced - working now!

Dead PRAM battery replaced.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group